Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft to release new 360 wireless wheel

Tue 07 Jun 2011 8:40am GMT / 4:40am EDT / 1:40am PDT
Hardware

U-shaped racing controller to cost $60, launching with Forza 4

Microsoft has announced a new official Xbox 360 controller - the Wireless Speed Wheel.

The unusual U-shaped controller will be released in October, apparently timed to coincide with the release of the Xbox 360's flagship racing title Forza 4.

The wheel will be compatible with that and all other car games out of the box, though there will be "limited functionality in some games."

1

The Wireless Speed Wheel has an RRP of $59.99

Headline features for the controller include haptic feedback, triggers for acceleration and braking and "green bands of lights on each handle to provide visual cues."

European pricing has yet to be revealed, but it will carry a $59.99 tag a launch in the US.

5 Comments

this looks weird but interesting also. I don't think i will buy one. But i will be getting Forza 4.

Posted:3 years ago

#1
no kinect wheel? :)

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Neil Young
Programmer

281 325 1.2
MS quietly jump on the motion control with a controller bandwagon :)

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Neil Young on 7th June 2011 12:07pm

Posted:3 years ago

#3

Paul Smith
Studying Animation

6 0 0.0
Triggers for the real clutch and gas... Just have to see how well the turn radii is...

Posted:3 years ago

#4

Drew Northcott
Senior Artist

8 2 0.3
Having driven a real car with a nearly square steering wheel there's a very real danger of this being rubbish, just because of the shape.

Posted:3 years ago

#5

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now