Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo US servers compromised

Mon 06 Jun 2011 7:55am GMT / 3:55am EDT / 12:55am PDT
HardwarePublishing

Hackers discover security exploit, but no user data taken

Nintendo was recently subject to a hacking attempt on its US servers, the firm has admitted.

No services have been affected, and the company is at pains to stress that its customers' data remains safe.

"The server contained no consumer information. The protection of our customer information is our utmost priority. We constantly monitor our security," said Nintendo of America in a statement.

Hacker collective Lulzsec have admitted to being behind the incursion, but claimed on Twitter that "we didn't mean any harm."

Said Lulzsec in an earlier Tweet, "We're not targeting Nintendo. We like the N64 too much - we sincerely hope Nintendo plugs the gap." The hackers later confirmed that Nintendo had closed the security hole in question.

The group is also responsible for exploiting vulnerabilities in a number of Sony sites, and has previously claimed that "this is the beginning of the end for Sony."

1 Comment

Stefano Ronchi
Indie Game Developer

50 0 0.0
What a shame that they are the same people behind the Sony attack, since I was about to say that this is what all hackers should be doing: exposing the security breaches without taking anything, so that the companies can then plug em.

But how can such be said when they commit criminal activities? I find it most peculiar: it seems to me that crime, especially that which is of a non-physical nature, is easy to do until it happens to you. What they need is a group of hackers attacking them to expose their security flaws and identity, then we shall see how many lulzs a second they will be producing.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now