Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

RockYou acquires Australian developer 3 Blokes

Thu 02 Jun 2011 4:23am GMT / 12:23am EDT / 9:23pm PDT
BusinessDevelopment

Galactic Trader team to work on combat and strategy Facebook titles

Social games company RockYou has acquired Australian developer 3 Blokes, with the team working on combat and strategy games for Facebook.

3 Blokes was set up in 2006 and has developed four titles for Facebook including Galactic Trader, which claims 200,000 monthly active users. The team is lead by George Fidler, who has previously worked for EA and The Creative Assembly.

"We were drawn to RockYou's commitment to design-driven teams, and to bringing great games to the broadest Facebook market possible," said Fidler. "Being a RockYou Studio enables us to maintain our independence and innovate freely as we work to redefine the concept of a social game."

The move follows RockYou's acquisition of the UK's Playdemic and its signing of another project from John Romero's Loot Drop team.

4 Comments

Jamie Watson
Studying Bachelor of Games & Interactive Entertainment

179 0 0.0
this is interesting... with all of the aussie developers been brought/sold/closed i wonder what is left for game design students (like myself) or other aussie developers?

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Neil Soane
European Publisher and Developer Account Manager

7 0 0.0
They deserve to be bought up with a name like "3 blokes", brilliant....only in Australia

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Sam Mendez
digital works

2 0 0.0
Be interesting to know some of the details of the purchase. How much did 3 Blokes sell for? Was it cash, stock, combination?

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Sam Mendez
digital works

2 0 0.0
A note to Jamie, does Southbank work web-based internships for development?

Posted:2 years ago

#4

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now