Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Angry Birds creator Rovio acquires animation studio

Thu 02 Jun 2011 4:32am GMT / 12:32am EDT / 9:32pm PDT
Business

Finnish team Kombo to help push into wider entertainment markets

Angry Birds creator Rovio has acquired Helsinki-based animation studio Kombo.

The new team will focus on creating animated content for the company as it expands beyond games into a wider entertainment market.

"We have had a long and fruitful relationship with Kombo in the past," said Mikael Hed, CEO of Rovio.

"This acquisition is an important step in the execution of our media strategy. The attitude, creativity and quality of Kombo's work is simply fantastic, and we look forward to delighting our fans with more Kombo animations."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now