Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Black Rock duo form Roundcube Entertainment

Tue 31 May 2011 10:46am GMT / 6:46am EDT / 3:46am PDT
Development

Baynes and Monaghan create new Brighton business

Black Rock Studios' Nick Baynes and Ian Monaghan have formed a new business, Roundcube Entertainment.

Baynes, previously game director on Split/Second, is studio head of the developer, while Monaghan becomes development director.

Both were hit by a round of layoffs at Black Rock, following parent company Disney's decision to jettison staff as it steps away from console development and moves into social markets.

Many staff left Brighton's Black Rock Studios last week, although a team of around 30 remains to work on a single project for Disney.

5 Comments

Jason Sartor Copy editor/Videographer, Florida Today

104 33 0.3
Good luck to these gentlemen.

Now, another Pure-type game would be awesome. I assume the Pure IP is owned elsewhere, but a similar game would be great. Takeshi, Takeshi!

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Toby Allen Producer, 2K Czech

3 0 0.0
Best of luck!

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Toby Allen Producer, 2K Czech

3 0 0.0
Best of luck!

Posted:3 years ago

#3

PATRICK CHUDE Studying MSc. Information Systems, University of Surrey

13 0 0.0
Awesome guys, hope they make a "Split/Second" type game. And give Evolution Studios a run for their money.

Posted:3 years ago

#4

James Francis Assistant Producer / Production Assistant

3 0 0.0
Having worked with both of these guys I can only see it being a success, I wish them good luck, and if they read this and need a AP/PA you know where I am ;)

Posted:3 years ago

#5

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now