Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga reported to be close to IPO

Wed 25 May 2011 7:43am GMT / 3:43am EDT / 12:43am PDT
Development

Social developer thought to be closer to listing that initially expected

It has been reported that Cityville producer Zynga may be ready for a public stock offering as soon as next week, with anonymous sources expecting the company to capitalise on the recent round of high-profile social listings.

The move has been expected for some time, but website AllthingsD cites "sources close to the situation" as believing that the IPO is imminent.

Those sources also expect the revenue numbers which Zynga will report prior to the offering to be even more impressive than is already predicted.

If the rumours are true, Zynga would be joining the recently listed business network LinkedIn as a public company - with many investors expecting Groupon and, eventually, Facebook, to follow suit.

Since listing its stock this week, LinkedIn's market valuation has more than doubled, to $9 billion.

No concrete pricing has been established for the social pioneer yet, but expectations are that the valuation would be considerably higher than the company's $10 billion estimation from the last round of funding.

Just last week, PopCap CEO David Roberts told press that his company is preparing an IPO currently, reassuring fans and investors that becoming a public company would not affect its output.

1 Comment

Dave Knudson
Sr. Technology Manager

42 7 0.2
I'm not a financial analyst, but I'd want to get the IPO in before LNKD has a chance to come back to earth....not sure how long it can hold up at 20 to 25 times revenue.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now