Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Greek Sony BMG website hit by hackers

Tue 24 May 2011 10:57am GMT / 6:57am EDT / 3:57am PDT
Online

Real names and email addresses from music site posted online

Sony BMG's Greek website has been attacked and data posted online by hackers, as the company suffers yet another online security breach.

Yesterday news emerged of a hacker attack on Sony's website in Thailand, as well as a separate breach at the company's So-Net Internet service provider in Japan.

The newest attack concerns the Sony BMG website in Greece, with security blog Naked Security reporting that a user database has been uploaded to pastebin.com, with the names and email addresses of users of SonyMusic.gr.

Security advisor Chester Wisniewski suggests the method of attack used did not require a particularly skilled hacker. He also reiterates that it is impossible to guarantee the safety of any website and that ironically Sony may end up being one of the most secure companies on the Web, once new procedures are put in place.

Greek users are advised to reset their passwords, although there is no evidence so far that any additional information has been compromised.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now