Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Sub 100 Wii available at retail now in UK

Fri 20 May 2011 1:50pm GMT / 9:50am EDT / 6:50am PDT
Retail

Game, Gamestation and Asda lower prices following Nintendo guidance

Several retailers have dropped in-store Wii prices to less than 100 for the first time, following Nintendo lowering the guidance price for the console to 130.

Gamestation, Game and Asda are all selling the hardware for 99 from today, bundled with either Mario Kart or Wii Sports Resort.

Earlier this month, Nintendo dropped the trade price for the hardware to 130 - but EU laws prevent the company from setting a firm RRP. Several retailers have now undercut that price, with online and in-store offerings from 99 upwards.

Tesco are selling the bundle for 109, HMV for 114.99 and ShopTo and Play.com for 119.99.

Previously, 100 has represented something of a psychological barrier to console pricing, often triggering a sales surge once broken.

Also available from today is a range of classic Wii titles offered at the budget price of 19.99 - a range including Wii Sports, WarioWare: Smooth Moves, Mario Strikers: Charged Football and Animal Crossing: Let's Go to the City.

2 Comments

Joe Winkler
trained retail salesman

169 4 0.0

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Adam Campbell
Studying Games Technology

101 0 0.0
The unit was overpriced and a rip-off for years, especially in the PAL regions. I guess this was inevitable on news of a brand new console..

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now