Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Gears of War 3 pre-orders top 1m

Thu 19 May 2011 5:27am GMT / 1:27am EDT / 10:27pm PDT
Development

Beta played by more than 1.27 million Xbox 360 gamers

Pre-orders for Epic's Xbox 360 exclusive Gears of War 3 have passed one million, faster than any previous title for the system.

And according to the developer, more than 1.29 million users have played the beta, ahead of the games full release in September.

"While the beta was a fun way to give players an early taste of our game, it also provided us with invaluable feedback to help us refine and polish Gears of War 3 to ensure it's truly the culmination of the trilogy we promised to the fans," said Cliff Blesinzki, design director at Epic.

2 Comments

Barrie Tingle Live Producer, Maxis

387 205 0.5
I actually cancelled my pre-order of the Epic Edition after the Beta. Was already a "roll and shotgun" game when I first got to try it out and it didn't change in any game I joined.
Will get GoW3 but SP and Co-op is as far as I'll get with it and I'll get the standard version.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Andrew Goodchild Studying development, Train2Game

1,254 421 0.3
I need to add my name to the preorder list:D loved what I played of the beta. But the bits Barrie didn't like probably appeal to me, as I hate games where it's all sniping, I like roll and shotgun:D I'm still lousy, but not as lousy.

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now