Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Nippon Ichi back in black

Mon 16 May 2011 10:57am GMT / 6:57am EDT / 3:57am PDT
RetailFinancePublishing

Company improvement as strong domestic sales exceed expectations

Japanese publisher and developer Nippon Ichi has seen a return to profit in its latest financial results, with a small increase in sales and a reversal of losses made the previous year.

Best known for the Disgaea franchise, Nippon Ichi saw sales rise by 4.4 per cent to 2.21 billion ($27.5m/19.4m). Operating income rose from a loss of 235 million ($2.9m/2.1m) the previous year to a profit of 315 million ($3.9m/2.8m) this year.

According to a financial statement translated by website Andriasang the recovery was primarily due to strong domestic sales, with the majority of releases selling beyond expectations.

No specific examples were given but the company released nine new titles during the last 12 months: seven brand new games, one port and one budget re-release.

For the current financial year the company is predicting a 3.2 increase in sales to 2.29 billion ($28.3m/20.1m), but a drop in operating income to 107 million ($1.3m/0.9m).

2 Comments

Michael Vandendriessche
Studying Computer Science

84 10 0.1
Good to see they're doing good. They make the awesomest games.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Tony Johns

520 12 0.0
I love Nippon Ichi.

They make the most funiest games with full on Japanese Humor.

I also love how they also collaborated with Gust, Idea Factory and Compile Heart.
How they portrayed the entire Gaming Industry in Hyper Dimension Neptune was awesome, they even parodied themselves too.

That is how Awesome Nippon Ichi is, they are not afraid to be themselves.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now