Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Unity certified by U.S. Army and Air Force

Tue 10 May 2011 9:18am GMT / 5:18am EDT / 2:18am PDT
BusinessDevelopment

Tech can be installed on secure networks and used for military sims, applications and mobile devices

Unity development technology, including the Unity Web Player, has been certified by the U.S. Army and Air Force to be installed on the military's secure networks.

The move will allow Unity to be used to create serious games, applications and training software, on networks, laptops and mobile devices used in the field.

"Getting our Army Certificate of Networthiness (CoN) and being placed on the U.S. Air Force AF E/APL are big steps forward for us in government Modeling Training and Simulation licensing," commented Davey Jackson, director of simulation and visualisation sales at Unity Technologies.

"What is significant about this certification is that we received accreditation for the Unity Web Player in addition to the Unity development platform. This will have a huge impact on the rate at which distributed simulations can be developed and deployed."

3 Comments

Stephen Hands
Director

7 0 0.0
Thats great news for developers of serious games content. Lets hope the UK MoD follow in their footsteps, which would help us.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

John Welsh
Program Manager Defence/Serious Games SME

10 0 0.0
Agreed. Same for Australia's Defence Force. Systems running on the secure network adds another layer (and cost) to the development process. Ideal for developing the many versatile SG solutions there is still plenty of opportunity for.

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Kingman Cheng
Illustrator and Animator

950 166 0.2
I have to say that's pretty damn awesome, nice going Unity!

Posted:3 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now