Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

THQ cancels Saints Row: Drive By

Thu 05 May 2011 10:24am GMT / 6:24am EDT / 3:24am PDT
Publishing

Fate of original 3DS version unclear as publish cans downloadable title

Publisher THQ has confirmed that it has ceased development of downloadable title Saints Row: Drive By for Xbox Live Arcade and PlayStation Network.

Although the game has never been pictured or demonstrated in public it was first announced at E3 2010 as a key third party Nintendo 3DS title. It was subsequently also confirmed as a downloadable title for the two HD consoles, with the ability to unlock exclusive content in the forthcoming Saints Row: The Third.

Following the game's listing as "cancelled" on the LinkedIn profile of THQ creative manager Scott Rogers, a THQ representative confirmed to Joystiq that, "We are not developing Saints Row: Drive By".

Asked to confirm the fate of the lead 3DS version though, THQ replied only that it had "no further comment at this time".

Previously THQ has indicated a general plan to support all major titles with downloadable and portable tie-ins, as well as other cross-media projects. Upcoming title Red Faction: Armageddon has already seen the release of downloadable title Battlegrounds, with a planned Syfy mini-series in the works.

Volition, the developer of both Saints Row and Red Faction, saw founder Mike Kulas exit the company earlier in the week, after 18 years at the studio.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now