Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Volition founder steps down after 18 years

Thu 28 Apr 2011 2:36pm GMT / 10:36am EDT / 7:36am PDT
PeopleDevelopment

VP of product development Dan Cermak to take president role

Volition founder Mike Kulas is to leave the company he established after 18 years.

The developer began as Parallax Software in 1993 before splitting into Volition and Outrage Entertainment. In 1998 Volition was acquired by publisher THQ, and has produced a number of big franchises including Red Faction and Saints Row.

Kulas said he is leaving voluntarily and will be succeeded by current VP of product development Dan Cermak taking the president role.

Volition is currently working on Red Faction: Armageddon and Saints Row: The Third, as well new horror trilogy inSANE with movie director Guillermo del Torro.

1 Comment

Robert Huebner President/CEO, Nihilistic Software

8 0 0.0
Mike was the first "boss" I ever worked for in games, and my experience working with him and the team on the original Descent was beyond value. He's been working his ass off non-stop ever since building THQ's most successful studio bar none.

Congratulations Mike - you've more than earned a little R&R!

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now