Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

GREE buys OpenFeint for $104 million

Tue 26 Apr 2011 11:43am GMT / 7:43am EDT / 4:43am PDT
Mobile

Cross-platform social network sold to Japanese social business

Japanese social gaming platform GREE has bought mobile games network OpenFeint for $104 million.

The OpenFeint team, including CEO and founder Jason Citron, will remain with the business as the new entity plans to reach 100 million users through a combined ecosystem.

"At GREE, we are socialising the next evolution of games and, as the best-in-class US-based mobile social network, OpenFeint is the ideal partner for us to offer the best mobile social games to the largest global audience," said Yoshikazu Tanaka, founder and CEO of GREE.

OpenFeint, the cross-platform social network for smartphones, currently boasts around 75 million users and 19,000 developers. Over 5000 games use OpenFeint.

"We are excited that GREE shares our belief in the OpenFeint network and are ecstatic to partner with a renowned global leader to build a multi-billion dollar business," added Citron,.

"Together, we will deliver the strongest global ecosystem of gaming networks to our combined 100 million users."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now