Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Oberon faces job losses - report

Mon 04 Apr 2011 7:33am GMT / 3:33am EDT / 12:33am PDT
Business

Casual game firm to halt internal development of games to focus on distribution

Oberon Media is set to cut a number of jobs as it moves away from developing casual and social games internally to focus solely on the distribution of titles instead.

According to a report on Gamasutra the cuts will be made from a variety of its offices, although numbers weren't disclosed.

"After a deep examination and careful assessment of every aspect of Oberon Media's business, the company's management team has made the decision to no longer pursue internal, first-party game production," read a statement.

It added that "a core of our extremely talented game production team members will remain on board to develop new content with external developers."

The company offers developers the opportunity to distribute titles using its Blaze platform, and under its I-play brand - although its penetration appears to have fallen significantly from 50 million players last July to 30 million today.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now