Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

THQ cuts jobs at Volition and Kaos Studios

Fri 01 Apr 2011 7:03am GMT / 3:03am EDT / 12:03am PDT
PublishingDevelopment

33 members of staff dropped as publisher scales back

Publisher THQ has cut a number of jobs at its Volition and Kaos Studios locations.

According to a report by Gamasutra, 16 positions have gone at Saints Row and Red Faction developer Volition and another 17 at Kaos Studios, recently responsible for Homefront.

"We must adjust our workforce to fit the studio's current needs, which is a relatively common occurrence in the game development industry," said the publisher in a statement.

In February this year, the publisher axed 14 jobs at its Australian studio.

3 Comments

Greg Wilcox Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,194 1,170 0.5
"We must adjust our workforce to fit the studio's current needs, which is a relatively common occurrence in the game development industry,"

That doesn't mean it doesn't stink to be let go. Best of luck to all affected - may you all land on your feet and hit the ground running.

g.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Robert O' Leary Studying Computing, Cork Institute of Technology

5 0 0.0
Damnit, Volition is the company that develops the amazing Saints Row and Red Faction series, I hope this doesn't have too much of an effect on the next games in the series...

Edited 2 times. Last edit by Robert O' Leary on 1st April 2011 4:43pm

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Greg Wilcox Creator, Destroy All Fanboys!

2,194 1,170 0.5
I was hoping for a Summoner III at some point, but I guess that's not happening any time soon...

Posted:3 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now