Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

AIAS awards and DICE sessions on Xbox Live

Fri 01 Apr 2011 9:32am GMT / 5:32am EDT / 2:32am PDT
Events

Video highlights of Interactive Achievement Awards to become free downloads

Highlights of the 14th annual Interactive Achievement Awards and select sessions from the 10th annual DICE Summit are to be made available on Xbox Live by the Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences (AIAS).

The video downloads will be free to all users, and are scheduled to become available from later today.

The IAA show highlights will include the awards' Game of the Year, Outstanding Achievement in Game Direction and other selected categories - including the entirety of Bing Gordon's Lifetime Achievement Award acceptance speech, entitled "The Golden Age of Gaming".

The IAA winners were originally announced in February, when Red Dead Redemption picked up five separate awards. However, BioWare's action role-playing title Mass Effect 2 was awarded overall Game of the Year.

The selected DICE (Design, Innovate, Communicate, Entertain) sessions will include Richard Garriott's session "Achieving the Impossible Creating Games and Gateways to Space!"; Kung Fu Panda director John Stevenson's "Monsters, Muppets and Movies" talk; and oceanographer Dr Dave Gallo's session "Exploring the Ocean Deep in 3D: To the Titanic and Beyond".

"We are excited to provide Xbox Live members the special opportunity to view highlights from the Interactive Achievement Awards. This may be many gamers' first introduction to the IAAs, and they will be able to see some of their favourite games from 2010 honoured," said Martin Rae, president of the AIAS.

"Additionally, the selected DICE Summit sessions are fantastic talks that will inspire anyone who takes the time to check it out."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now