Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

First winners of US STEM videogame challenge announced

Thu 31 Mar 2011 10:39am GMT / 6:39am EDT / 3:39am PDT
EventsDevelopment

12 youth prizes awarded as Filament Games takes developer title

The winners of the inaugural US national STEM video game challenge have been announced, with 12 youth prizes awarded alongside the top prize, which went to Filament Games' Dan Norton and Dan White for their game You Make Me Sick!

The competition is aimed at increasing interest in science, technology, engineering, and maths among students and young people via the medium of gaming.

Each of the 12 students, from grades 5-8, was awarded a laptop, as well as $2000 for their school or non-profit organisation of choice. Norton and White received $50,000 for their project.

Derek Lomas, Dixie Ching and Jeanine Sun collectively won the colegiate and impact prizes of $50,000 for their collection of maths games entitled NumberPower: Numbaland!

"Three cheers for the National STEM Video Game Challenge for catalysing this entertaining and educational approach to harnessing American ingenuity, all for the cause of science, technology, engineering and maths education," said Aneesh Chopra, US chief technical officer.

"It is efforts like these that will ensure our nation's continued economic and technological leadership well into the 21st century."

Recently, UK trade body UKIE embarked on a similar scheme with STEMNET, hoping to enlist role models and ambassadors from the games industry to encourage young people's interest in the relevant STEM subjects.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now