Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Latest Marvel vs Capcom hits 2 million mark

Wed 30 Mar 2011 7:40am GMT / 3:40am EDT / 12:40am PDT
Games

Publisher hails "successful revival of the series" 12 years after the original shipped

Capcom has announced that the latest instalment in the Marvel vs Capcom franchise - Marvel vs Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds - has now shipped 2 million units globally.

The publisher has hailed the launch a "successful revival of the series" with the first two games originally releasing in 1999 and 2000, while a digital version of the second game notched up a million sales in 2009.

"With an 11-year gap between the last entry in the Marvel vs Capcom series, demand for a sequel was at an all-time high, and expectations were soaring," read a statement on the company's website. "Capitalising on the resurgence of the fighting game boom that began last year, Marvel vs Capcom 3 was able to exceed its predecessor and ship 2 million units worldwide.

"We here at Capcom remain committed to developing for multiple platforms, reaching out to as wide a variety of users as possible to deliver the very best in quality entertainment."

Additional content for the latest game is planned for download via PSN and Xbox Live Marketplace.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now