Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Leisure Suit Larry creator to open Festival of Games

Thu 24 Mar 2011 9:39am GMT / 5:39am EDT / 2:39am PDT
EventsPeople

Al Lowe to give opening keynote on Sierra On-Line experience and new iOS app

Festival of Games

Save the date: April 28-29, 2011 in the Netherlands!

The most effective business event for the games...

festivalofgames.org

Sierra On-Line veteran Al Lowe is to give the opening keynote speech at the Festival of Games event in the Netherlands next month.

A former school teacher, Lowe created the first Leisure Suit Larry graphic adventure in 1987 and then oversaw a number of sequels and spin-offs. The titles remain atypical in the games industry as they feature adult situations and implied sexual content, as aging loser Larry Laffer attempts to bed a series of women.

Although initially released without any advertising or publicity the first game went on to win the Software Publishers Association's "Best Fantasy, Role Playing or Adventure Game of 1987" and sold over 250,000 copies.

At the Festival of Games Lowe will share his experiences creating the series and his 16 years at Sierra. He will also discuss his more recent titles, including iOS app Al Lowe's CyberJoke 3000.

Previous keynote speakers at the Festival of Games have included Pong creator Ralph Baer and Pac-man designer Toru Iwatani.

This year's event is due to run from April 28 - 29, at the Jaarbeurs Utrecht in the Netherlands. The most recently confirmed speakers include representatives from companies such as DICE and Kontagen, and Bigpoint and InnoGames.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now