Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

IGDA elects five new board members

Thu 24 Mar 2011 10:26am GMT / 6:26am EDT / 3:26am PDT
Development

Vote declared void after another year of low turnout

The International Game Developers Association has announced five new board members, after having to declare the member vote void when the minimum number of necessary votes was not received.

This is not the first time the IGDA has had to declare a vote void, with 2010 seeing participation from only 11 per cent of members. This year that figure rose to 18 per cent with 1418 votes cast - just 154 short of the minimum requirement.

As a result the existing board selected the new members itself, based on those votes that had been received.

Those selected for the four three-year seats available are:

Brian Robbins, Founder, Riptide Games (total votes: 549) Feargus Urquhart, CEO, Obsidian Entertainment (total votes: 532) Dustin Clingman, CEO, ZeeGee Games (total votes: 517) Cordy Rierson, Director, University Talent Development, Microsoft Game Studios (total votes: 480)

Selected or the single one-year seat in contention is:

Scott Berfield, Executive Producer, Center for Serious Play, University of Washington, Bothell (total votes: 476)

A full list of contenders is available at the IGDA website.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now