Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Square Enix opening Japanese mobile studio

Wed 23 Mar 2011 10:20am GMT / 6:20am EDT / 3:20am PDT
MobilePublishing

Hippos Lab aiming at "high quality original mobile content"

Slightly Mad Studios

Slightly Mad Studios is a multi-award winning games developer specialising in racing simulations. Founded...

slightlymadstudios.c...

A Japanese press release from Square Enix has indicated that the publisher is opening a new studio aimed predominantly at producing mobile content.

The newly formed Hippos Lab will be "providing high-quality original content mainly for smart phones".

The move closely follows last week's announcement that Square Enix is opening another new studio in Canada, specifically geared towards developing for the as-yet-unannounced next generation of consoles. That studio is due to open in 2012 and create 100 jobs.

Slightly Mad Studios has also taken the step of opening a mobile specific studio this month, as did Resistance and Ratchet & Clank developer Insomniac, which founding Insomniac Click.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now