Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Slightly Mad founders form new social/mobile studio

Tue 22 Mar 2011 8:29am GMT / 4:29am EDT / 1:29am PDT
Mobile

Need for Speed: Shift developer announces new leading edge social gaming engine

Slightly Mad Studios

Slightly Mad Studios is a multi-award winning games developer specialising in racing simulations. Founded...

slightlymadstudios.c...

Slightly Mad Studios founders Ian Bell and Andy Garton have formed a new mobile and social games studio named Gamagio, to support platforms including Facebook and iOS.

"Gamagio is creating new gaming experiences, new ways to play and interact, and we see social and mobile gaming as key to that," said Bell.

Bell is currently head of studio at Slightly Mad and Garton development director, with the pair's previous focus being on hardcore racing simulations including GT Legends, GTR 2 and the more recent Need for Speed: Shift spin-off series for EA.

Although the new company has not yet announced any specific titles it has revealed its propriety high performance, crossplatform mobile engine supporting Apple iOS and Google Android devices.

"Our class-leading social gaming engine has been built from the ground up to support the leading edge HTML5 technology, which is central to the ever changing social and mobile gaming landscape, as well as plugin free 3D graphics standards such as WebGL," said Garton.

Gamagio boasts over 50 staff working on multiple titles, with the company hinting that it will reveal its first games this summer.

A full, premium profile listing for Slight Mad Studio is available to view on the GamesIndustry.biz Global Business Directory.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now