Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga launches RewardVille promotions site

Wed 16 Mar 2011 10:31am GMT / 6:31am EDT / 3:31am PDT

CityVille publisher tries to break Facebook reliance with increased web presence

FarmVille and Mafia Wars developer Zynga has launched a new promotional site called RewardVille, which offers players additional in-game items in return for zCoins.

Zynga's in-game currency is based on the experience point style zPoints, which are used to increase a player's "zLevel". Eventually this unlocks the ability to earn zCoins, which can now be traded for items on RewardVille.

From a business perspective the main purpose of the new site appears to be to decrease the company's reliance on Facebook. Relationships between the two companies have been strained for some time, despite Zynga signing a five-year deal to use Facebook credits last May.

The new site also aids Zynga in its attempt to float as a public company, which requires it to demonstrate a greater independence from Facebook. As a result it is believed to be working on its own web-based portal, following a recent round of new funding and a net valuation believed to be as much as $10 billion.

RewardVille supports all of Zynga's major games, including CityVille, FarmVille, Zynga Poker, FrontierVille, Mafia Wars, Café World, Treasure Isle, YoVille, PetVille, and Vampire Wars.

Zynga recently attempted to enforce its trademark on the 'Ville' suffix, despite itself being caught up in similar legal complaints over the use of the Mafia Wars name.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now