Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Spoon Cloud Gaming service launches

Wed 16 Mar 2011 9:51am GMT / 5:51am EDT / 2:51am PDT
Online

Second Life, Jewel Quest and 200 others already available via new online portal

Cloud computing firm Spoon has announced a new gaming service for on-demand desktop titles, with publishers including Namco Networks, 1C, Alawar Entertainment, and iWin already signed up.

The service has launched as Spoon Cloud Gaming, with over 200 titles already available. Only a small browser plug-in is required to play the games.

The service uses a hybrid of remote and local computing resources, which aims to reduce bandwidth requirements. Individual games require no installs, but can be downloaded to play offline if the user prefers. Game states are automatically synchronised between devices.

Spoon uses an integrated DRM and processing system, with the ability to embed games into any website or social networking service with a single line of HTML.

"We are currently seeing growth in cloud gaming as game developers and publishers look to capitalise on the power of the web to sell and distribute PC games online. Yet, until now the options for delivering desktop games online, without compromising performance or offline capabilities, have been limited", said Spoon founder and CEO Kenji Obata.

"Spoon is excited to bring app virtualisation technology to the gaming community," he added. "Gamers can now enjoy graphically rich desktop games in the cloud without the latency issues associated with other cloud technologies."

1 Comment

This sounds like another option for having high-end gaming on Facebook, and if that is the case, this is very cool.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now