Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Guinness: Kinect "fastest selling consumer electronics device"

Thu 10 Mar 2011 8:26am GMT / 3:26am EST / 12:26am PST
Retail

Ten million peripherals, ten million standalone games shipped to retail

UPDATE: Microsoft has confirmed to IndustryGamers that the 10 million figure is shipped to retail, not sold to consumers.

Guinness World Records has names Microsoft's Kinect as the fastest selling consumer electronics device ever, beating out the iPhone and iPad with an average of 133,333 units sold each day over its first two months on sale.

Eight million sensor bars were sold in to retail in that 60 days, a number which has now risen to ten million. More than ten million standalone Kinect exclusive titles have also been sold.

"The sales figures here speak for themselves," said Guinness World Records' gaming editor Gaz Deaves. "According to independent research, no other consumer electronics device sold faster within a 60-day time span, which is an incredible achievement considering the strength of the sector."

Kinect's launch attracted huge investment from Microsoft, with estimates of $500 million advertising budget somewhat confirmed my Microsoft's UK boss Stephen McGill telling GamesIndustry.biz that it was the company's biggest ever hardware launch.

However, Kinect's performance seems to have outpaced even Microsoft's estimations, accelerating over the Christmas period in 2010 from one million in ten days, through two and a half million over 25 - to eight million in sixty.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now