Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Emmert takes over Cryptic as CEO moves on

Wed 09 Mar 2011 3:23pm GMT / 10:23am EST / 7:23am PST
PeopleDevelopment

Needham exploring other industry roles

Atari

Atari group is a global creator, producer and publisher of interactive entertainment for interactive...

atari.com

Cryptic Studios CCO Jack Emmert has been appointed chief executive officer of the Atari-owned MMO developer, following the departure of John Needham.

Needham is pursuing unspecified other opportunities with gaming. "It's been a privilege and a pleasure to work with Cryptic these past several years," he stated. "It's with a heavy heart that I now depart this company we've all worked so tirelessly to grow.

"We've done so very much together - two successful MMO launches, The Foundry and a successful free-to-play transition for Champions Online. I'm thankful for my time here and for all that we've accomplished."

Co-founder Emmert will now report directly to Atari CEO Jim Wilson. "As a colleague, I am sad to see John go, but our vision remains clear," claimed Emmert.

"Cryptic continues to develop great gaming experiences while ensuring the success of its current projects, Champions Online: Free for All, Star Trek Online and Neverwinter. We will continue to set high goals for ourselves and under my leadership we will continue to meet them."

1 Comment

James Prendergast
Research Chemist

734 430 0.6
Is my memory tricking me or is that a character created by Shamus Young for one of his MMO series. I've seen it somewhere before!

Unfortunately, from what i played of Champions online it never quite matched-up to city of heroes for me.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now