Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

GDC 2011 sees 19,000 industry visitors

Mon 07 Mar 2011 3:33pm GMT / 10:33am EST / 7:33am PST
Events

Next conference planned for March 5-9 2012

Organisers of the Game Developers Conference 2011 have confirmed that the San Francisco-based event saw over 19,000 attendees last week.

GDC 2011 offered 450 sessions in total, as well as an assortment of tutorials and networking events. Nintendo boss also Satoru Iwata held a divisive keynote, in which he claimed that "game development is drowning" due to low-cost social and mobile titles.

Claimed event director Meggan Scavio to GamaSutra, "the past week of GDC truly embodied the passion and spirit of the video game community.

"From seasoned game veterans to aspiring game professionals in areas spanning social and online games through major console titles and beyond, we are honored to continue to serve the industry - and hope to see you all next year."

Next year's conference is slated for March 5 to 9 2012, again at Moscone Convention Centre in San Francisco.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now