Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga adds branded challenges to FrontierVille

Tue 01 Mar 2011 9:54am GMT / 4:54am EST / 1:54am PST
Social Network

19m MAU social game running promotional Paramount missions

Zynga has revealed another monetisation technique for its raft of social network games - adding branded in-game challenges to promote feature films.

Until March 6, FrontierVille includes missions themed around upcoming Paramount/Nickelodeon movie Rango. Limited edition virtual goods will also be made available.

The game's 19.4 million monthly active users will have the option to embark on an in-game hunt for the titular chameleon. Completing this requires asking other FrontierVille players for assistance; once achieved, players are shown a trailer for the movie and given a rare virtual trophy.

Terms of the promotional deal are unknown, but Zynga has previously partnered with Paramount on a FarmVille in-game stunt for the movie MegaMind.

Reports InsideSocialGames, this led to nine million users sending four million messages about the limited edition virtual goods associated with the promotion.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now