Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Unity and GameString form cloud partnership

Fri 25 Feb 2011 9:20am GMT / 4:20am EST / 1:20am PST
Developer Tools

Deal will allow for larger games on browsers

Unity and GameString are to collaborte on a new, cloud-based game streaming service, allowing publishers to push 3D content on any web-enabled device

GameString's streaming technology uses a double-rendering system, giving developers more optimisation control and a better level of customisation on Unity-based 3D browser titles.

A release for the platform is scheduled for this summer, but advance licences are being considered now.

"Unity has been hard at work democratising game development for years, and during 2011 we are taking this further than ever before with broader platform support and easier deployment to all major gaming platforms," said Unity CEO David Helgason.

"GameString is working on enhancing ease of access and to a broader audience than any on-device runtime technology can. We're excited to see where the GameString platform will take this."

"As consumer demand for visually rich browser-based games increases; social, casual, MMO and more hard-core games are maturing and filling up our daily online entertainment. GameString recognises this new platform is an opportunity to increase and improve what casual, as well as high-end gamers want.

"This new platform will also allow developers to bring larger and more triple-A level games to the browser-based ecosystem," he added.

"What we are developing is an enhanced system that delivers the Unity Web Player rendered from the cloud, supporting the highest rate of concurrent users possible. Our customers and their users will have access to this turbo speed streaming environment from any web-enabled device that they happen to have in their hands at that moment."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now