Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

$12m more funding for Digital Chocolate

Wed 23 Feb 2011 11:35am GMT / 6:35am EST / 3:35am PST
BusinessSocial Network

Trip Hawkins' social dev now has $44m in backing

Social network game studio Digital Chocolate, headed up by EA founder Trip Hawkins, has revealed series D investment of $12 million.

Intel Capital leads the new backing, with further funds provided by prior investors Sutter Hill Ventures and Bridgescale Partners.

Observed CEO Hawkins, "The investment from Intel Capital supports our vision of publishing leading social games across different devices and platforms.

"The strength of our team, combined with the strategic insight and support from Intel Capital and existing investors, will help extend our leadership in the evolving social gaming market."

This brings Digital Chocolate's total investment to date to over $43.9 million since its creation in 2003. The firm now boats 400 employees, with offices in California, Finland, Spain, India and Mexico.

It has 17.6 million monthly active users of its Facebook games, predominantly of Millionaire City.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now