Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Image Metrics acquires consumer avatar firm

Fri 18 Feb 2011 8:38am GMT / 3:38am EST / 12:38am PST
Developer ToolsBusiness

Facial animation company to incorporate Big Stage platform into its own real-time tech

Facial animation firm Image Metrics has announced its acquisition of consumer avatar creation company Big Stage in an undisclosed deal.

The move will allow Image Metrics to incorporate the Portable You platform into its own real-time animation technology in order to provide companies - specifically "online and mobile entertainment, social network and communications" businesses - with a more realistic avatar creation service.

"We are extremely pleased with the talent and technology coming from Big Stage," said Image Metrics CEO Robert Gehorsam. "Their advanced yet easy-to-use avatar creation technology is the perfect platform to package with our facial animation technology for a complete life-like digital solution for both consumers and developers alike."

The move marks an expansion from Image Metrics' traditional trade-only base, with Portable You also being made available direct to consumers. The company has previously worked with firms such as Activision Blizzard, Double Negative, Microsoft and more.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now