Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Nintendo's Professor Layton sales top 11m

Thu 17 Feb 2011 3:26pm GMT / 10:26am EST / 7:26am PST
Business

Level-5's DS puzzle series proves a global smash

Nintendo's handheld puzzle series Professor Layton has reached 11.47 million worldwide shipments across four titles, developer Level-5 has revealed.

AndriaSang reported the series passing the 11 million milestone. The DS-only series has proven popular with both traditional and so-called casual audiences, and has been the subject of mainstream TV ads from Nintendo.

A fifth game, Professor Layton and The Miracle Mask, will be a 3DS launch title.

5 Comments

Kingman Cheng
Illustrator and Animator

949 166 0.2
It's a great series, looking forward to the Ace Attorney crossover too.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Martin Mathers
Copywriter/Journalist

39 0 0.0
"A fifth game, Professor Layton and The Miracle Mask, will be a 3DS launch title."

... in Japan. Not in the West. We haven't even got the fourth title yet.

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Art C. Jones
Writer / Blogger

58 78 1.3
Professor Layton may have the highest production values of any DS game. It's always jarring to me, in a good way, when I put in the latest game and see so much animated video and voice work. The quality bar is really high, and the games are unique and intriguing. Working my way through the 3rd now after finishing the first 2 when each came out. Great series that shines on the DS.

I think it may be a mistake not to have the 5th game out with the 3DS launch as Konami's knock-off series certainly won't wait for them...

Posted:3 years ago

#3

Frankie Kang
Producer / Consultant

39 1 0.0
Professoer Layton saved my DS.

Posted:3 years ago

#4
@Kang: :D
I can, somehow, say the same thing for my DS too.

Posted:3 years ago

#5

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now