Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Civilization IV becomes first Grammy-winning game

Mon 14 Feb 2011 9:00am GMT / 4:00am EST / 1:00am PST
GamesMedia

Re-release of title track Baba Yetu takes music award

Baba Yetu, a song written for 2005 Firaxis/2K strategy game Civilization IV, has become the first ever music originally composed for a videogame to win a Grammy award.

The track took home the 'Best Instrumental Arrangement Accompanying Vocalist(s)' going in the 53rd annual US recording industry awards.

While the song's win came because of its re-release as part of composer Christopher Tin's 2010 album Calling All Dawns, Baba Yetu was originally created specifically for Civilization IV. It played over the game's title screen, as well as in promotional videos.

The full list of Grammy winners is available here.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now