Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Video Game Bar Association launches

Thu 10 Feb 2011 8:56am GMT / 3:56am EST / 12:56am PST
Legal

Aims to connect lawyers specialising in industry matters

The Video Game Bar Association has launched in Los Angeles, aiming to become a worldwide organisation connecting lawyers and legal practitioners involved in the games industry.

Over one hundred invitations to join have been dispatched across Europe and the US, whilst establishing board members include George Rose, executive vice president and chief public policy officer at Activision Blizzard and David Anderson, vice president of business and legal affairs for THQ.

"The legal issues facing a games attorney are unique," said Patrick Sweeney, head of Reed Smith's Video Game Practice and another member of the association's Board. "With the rapid growth of a worldwide games industry, an association of like-minded practitioners in this dynamic industry is long overdue."

"As more and more attorneys look at this growing industry as a significant part of their practices, it's only natural for an organization like this to arise. I'm thrilled to be working with David, George, Dave and Konni in launching the V.G.B.A."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now