Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Remedy co-founder joins Rovio

Mon 07 Feb 2011 9:15am GMT / 4:15am EST / 1:15am PST
People

Petri Järvilehto appointed as senior VP for console development

Remedy co-founder Petri Järvilehto has joined Rovio Mobile as the senior vice president for console development, with his first job being to oversee the new console iterations of the Finnish company's hugely successful mobile title Angry Birds.

Direct ports of the Angry Birds are already available on Mac, PC and as a PlayStation Mini for PlayStation 3 and PSP, but future console plans are being kept tightly under wraps. Bringing in a man of Järvilehto's calibre, with Max Payne 1 and 2 plus Alan Wake on his CV, hints at something pretty ambitious.

Previously, Rovio executive Peter Vesterbacka has hinted at an "old school worms" style of gameplay.

"We want to make Angry Birds a long lasting global gaming franchise, and we see the console platforms as a way of delivering an even more entertaining, powerful and involving experience," said Rovio CEO Mikael Hed. "Petri has an outstanding track record and we're thrilled to have him take the lead of our console development."

"Angry Birds is one of the fastest growing gaming franchises in the world right now," said Järvilehto. "I think we're only in the beginning, and with consoles we have the opportunity to create a new kind of gaming experience."

Angry Birds has experienced incredible levels of success, being the almost perennial occupier of the App Store top spot, as well as making massive inroads into the Android Market. David Cameron has also revealed that he is a big fan of the title.

Järvilehto will remain on Remedy's board of directors.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now