Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

MTV Games closes after Harmonix sale completes

Fri 04 Feb 2011 9:36am GMT / 4:36am EST / 1:36am PST
Publishing

Reports indicate only a few financial staff remain

MTV Games is closing for good now the final sale of Harmonix has been completed by parent company Viacom, reports indicate.

The studio decided to put Harmonix up for sale last year after Rock Band 3 made significant losses at retail - despite a very strong critical showing. Despite protestations that several parties were keen on buying the studio, negotiations turned sour as Harmonix issued a lawsuit against Viacom, accusing them of manipulating figures to avoid paying performance bonuses.

Eventually, Harmonix was purchased by a private investment group, Columbus Nova, essentially leaving them as an independent studio.

Viacom bought Harmonix in 2006 for $175 million and operated it via MTV Games, which MCV is reporting to be all but wound down.

It's not thought that Viacom will be making any further attempt to penetrate the video games market at this point.

3 Comments

Mbuso Radebe
Associate Producer

55 23 0.4
Does anybody know if the sale of Harmonix included the IP rights to Rock Band and Dance Central?

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Sam Houston
Online Content Manager

1 0 0.0
Yes, it did

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Mbuso Radebe
Associate Producer

55 23 0.4
Awesome!

Thanks :)

Posted:3 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now