Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Mastertronic inks PopCap deal

Fri 28 Jan 2011 10:37am GMT / 5:37am EST / 2:37am PST
BusinessPublishing

Publisher to bring casual titles to PC, handheld and console formats in Europe

UK independent publisher Mastertronic has announced a deal with casual games giant PopCap to bring its games to market on PC, handheld and console platforms across the UK and Europe.

The arrangement will see a combination of standalone and compilation titles published, starting with PopCap Hits for the Xbox 360 - comprising Bejeweled 2, Peggle, Feeding Frenzy and AstroPop - and followed by Plants vs Zombies for the Nintendo DS.

"PopCap is a fantastic company with proven selling titles that consumers love to play," said Garry Williams, Mastertronic's business development director. "Our job is to use our existing publishing agreements on all the major platforms to help PopCap get these sure-fire hits into retail on as many formats as possible.

"To date, digital was the main avenue to exploit these record-breaking titles, the success of the Wii and now Kinect has shown that there is a new raft of consumers that value these casual and playable family releases. PopCap has been quick to realise that these games can replicate the digital and PC success on a variety of new entertainment formats."

And PopCap's senior director of business development in the EMEA region, added: "PopCap's core business is to make great games that everyone, anywhere can play. We are delighted to partner with Mastertronic to bring our console games to retail in Europe."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now