Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Kongregate Arcade returns to Android Market

Wed 26 Jan 2011 9:20am GMT / 4:20am EST / 1:20am PST
Mobile

GameStop app now runs solely via browser to avoid Google restrictions

GameStop has submitted a revised version of its Kongregate Arcade app to the Android Market, following the forced removal of the original iteration.

Google had pulled the Arcade from its mobile app store due to stipulations about the hosting of rival download shops on Market.

While Kongregate had disputed the "bizarre" removal, claiming Arcade did constitute an App Store, it has now altered the free game hub in an attempt to satisfy Google.

Kongregate Arcade now runs all its games within a browser, storing games in that browser's cache rather than saving them as their own entities on the phone.

The app is currently available on Android Market, though whether it remains there depends on Google's decision.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now