Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel


42% of all Kinect game sales were UK-made titles

By Alec Meer

Mon 24 Jan 2011 2:04pm GMT / 9:04am EST / 6:04am PST

Plus 30% of Move games sold since launch hail from British devs


The Trade association for UK Interactive Entertainment

UKIE has highlighted the strong contribution of British developers to games created for Microsoft and Sony's motion controllers.

Figures from GfK Chart Track reveal that some 42 per cent of UK sales for all Xbox 360 Kinect titles and 30 per cent of PlayStation Move games to date where made in Britain.

Kinect Sports, created by Twycross studio Rare, remains the best-selling title for Microsoft's platform, while Frontier Developments' Kinectimals is another strong performer.

Said UKIE director general Michael Rawlinson, "The array of strong products that our home-grown, UK talent is producing is something we can all be proud of.

"This just shows how our UK developer base remains one of the best in the world, and can continue to step up to the plate as the market develops and platforms evolve."

UKIE also observed that the UK's current best-selling game, Little Big Planet 2, was created by Guildford's Media Molecule.

From Recommendations by Taboola


Robert Turner Studying Games Programming, SAE Institute

24 0 0.0
This is great news! And I hope it sends a message to the govt telling them that this IS an industry worth time and investment. Although I cant see Osborne changing his mind now. :-(

Posted:4 years ago


Robert Smith Studying BTEC- Games tech, University of the West of England

10 0 0.0
What the above said.

Posted:4 years ago


Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now