Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

GameStop reveals Kongregate Arcade for Android

Tue 18 Jan 2011 3:10pm GMT / 10:10am EST / 7:10am PST
Mobile

"The world’s largest collection of free mobile games for Android"

Retail giant Gamestop has revealed more of its plans for recent acquisition Kongregate, today announcing an Android game hub based on the service.

Kongregate Arcade is billed as " the world's largest collection of free mobile games for Android," thanks to its use of Flash titles.

Over 300 games are available at launch, with more added weekly. Kongregate is also "actively looking to identify opportunities to work with its community of more than 8,500 developers to create new Flash based game content exclusively for the Kongregate Arcade library which should further jumpstart Android as a viable gaming platform."

The free Arcade application is available now via the Android Market, and works on all devices running Android 2.2 or later.

At present it includes a small amount of in-app advertising, and also offers user registration. There is no other overt monetisation method at present, but it joins a number of planned alternatives to Google's own Market - including one from Amazon.

"In creating the Kongregate Arcade, we wanted to solve the game discovery problem that all Android owners have shared," said Jim Greer, CEO of Kongregate.

"It was important to reinforce our mission to provide gamers with great free games anytime, anywhere, and to broaden the reach of the Kongregate community across multiple platforms. The arrival of Kongregate Arcade is the perfect next step in that strategy."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now