Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Rock Band Network for Wii terminated

Mon 17 Jan 2011 8:50am GMT / 3:50am EST / 12:50am PST
GamesOnline

Harmonix closes service due to "smaller online install base and limited demand"

Rock Band Network for Wii terminated Harmonix closing service due to "smaller online install base and limited demand"

Harmonix is to shut down the Wii version of its Rock Band Network service.

The system allowed musicians to convert their own music for download or purchase in-game, but has apparently not proved popular on Nintendo's home console.

Wrote the studio on its official forum, "With the smaller online install base, limited demand for releases so far and the significant amount of work it takes for our producers and audio team to convert and process these additional tracks we're no longer able to continue submitting RBN content to the Wii."

Standard song downloads (i.e. those by known and Harmonix-approved bands) remain unaffected.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now