Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony targeting Chinese mainland

Fri 14 Jan 2011 9:07am GMT / 4:07am EST / 1:07am PST
Emerging Markets

New HQ to develop games, train staff for estimated $15bn market

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony Computer Entertainment's Asian wing has confirmed plans to enter and invest in the Chinese market.

The firm will embark on training and R&D programmes in the Guangdong province, reports China Daily, ultimately leading to homegrown game development projects.

These will reportedly feature 'Chinese elements' but will be created for international rather than purely domestic audiences.

The move is in partnership with Guangdong Animation City, which is contributing $227 million to the new enterprise.

Sony is apparently seeking to launch PlayStation hardware in China, a country whose government is notoriously resistant to consoles. Hardware-makers have also been traditionally deterred by China's spectacularly high piracy rates.

While there is no timetable for a Chinese launch, projections for the planned new PlayStation business (with the contribution of other developers) have it turning over around $15 billion within the next five years.

2 Comments

Sean Kauppinen
Founder & CEO

45 47 1.0
Where is the China market data from? Niko Partners?

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Paul Erickson
Senior Analyst

10 0 0.0
This will be interesting to watch given the market's resistance to paying for high-dollar consoles. And now with the potential for easy mass piracy, this has to make projecting the P&L for a China campaign all the more dicey.

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now