Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

$50m funding for Kinect tech firm PrimeSense

Thu 13 Jan 2011 8:26am GMT / 3:26am EST / 12:26am PST
Business

Israeli start-up takes more investment following Kinect success

PrimeSense, the Israeli company responsible for the key technology in Microsoft's Kinect sensor, has raised $50 million funding.

According to Globes, the new cash from Silver Lake and existing investors Gemini, Genesis and Caanan Partners, brings total investment in the company to $79 million.

Although the firm has seen a number of acquisition offers, president Aviad Maziels said that the company wants to remain part of the local industry.

"We constantly get acquisition offers, but we want to be part of an industry in Israel and we don't intend to be easily sold," he said.

PrimeSense technology allows interaction with consumer technology without the need for traditional controllers, instead using voice and physical gestures.

While Microsoft is the company's only videogame console partner, it is working with other companies in the entertainment and PC markets.

Microsoft's Kinect sensor has been a considerable success, selling over 8 million units since launch in November.

PrimeSense hopes to grow from 50 employees to 80 this year.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now