Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Firemint buys Puzzle Quest developer

Tue 04 Jan 2011 8:16am GMT / 3:16am EST / 12:16am PST
BusinessDevelopment

Melbourne studio merge as Infinite Interactive acquired by Flight Control firm

Mobile developer Firemint has acquired fellow Australian studio Infinite Interactive.

Infinite is best known for its Puzzle Quest series, while Firemint's banner title is the iOS hit Flight Control. The two studios will be merged into one Melbourne office, with all future titles branded as Firemint games.

Firemint, founded in 1999, intends to move further into multi-platform releases in the future, having recently brought its titles to PC, PSN and DSiWare.

Infinite founder Steve Fawkner, who opened his studio in 1989, will assume a product management role at Firemint. The two firms are claimed to have been friendly for several years.

Said Fawkner, "Firemint has had huge success designing, developing and publishing great original games. By joining forces, we now have a way to further develop some of the exciting new concepts we've been working on. This new position really frees me up to focus on game design and I can't wait to get stuck into it."

Fawkner will complete an unfinished Infinite project before moving on to Firemint titles. No other details of the deal have been revealed as yet.

1 Comment

Matt Hackett
Game Developer

49 2 0.0
Puzzle Quest was an amazing game, just perfectly executed. Its follow-ups (Galactrix and Quest 2) were very weak, in my eyes. Should be interesting if Firemint can help Infinite achieve that lightning in a bottle again.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now