Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Asus teams with PrimeSense for PC motion control

Tue 04 Jan 2011 8:49am GMT / 3:49am EST / 12:49am PST
BusinessHardware

Kinect-like hardware and software due this year

Hardware manufacturer Asus is working with Prime Sense - the creators of the technology behind Microsoft's Kinect - on a motion control interface for the PC.

The controller-free technology will hit retail in the second quarter of 2011, incorporated in the WAVI Xtion media center. I n addition, Asus well also release the Xtion PRO software for developers to create their own gesture-based applications, due this February.

"Our agreement with ASUS for developing WAVI Xtion demonstrates that Natural Interaction technology is already mainstream," said Inon Beracha, CEO of PrimeSense.

"This user interface is a new paradigm that represents how all CE products will eventually be naturally controlled and operated."

Last month PrimeSense released open-source drivers for the camera used in Kinect, and founded an organisation dedicated to the promotion of its Natural Interaction devices.

"Asus combines its wireless cross-room solution with PrimeSense's simple, intuitive, gesture-based control technology to allow users to enjoy and share PC content on TV with gestures. WAVI Xtion is the unprecedented living room experience that will revolutionize users' recreational lives," said Kent Chien, GM of Asus.

"Natural Interaction's appeal to consumers means more monetisation opportunities based on personalisation, various branding and advertising programs inside applications."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now