Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Play appoints new editor for 200th issue

Wed 22 Dec 2010 11:29am GMT / 6:29am EST / 3:29am PST
Media

King takes top job as magazine celebrates bicentenary

Imagine Publishing has appointed Ryan King as the new editor of long-running games magazine Play, the best-selling independent PlayStation magazine in the UK.

Recruited from rival publisher Future, King's first duties will be to oversee the magazine's 200th issue. Launched in 1995 Play also recently celebrated its 10 millionth copy sold.

Going on sale from December 23, the 200th issue will include three free gifts: a limited edition art print, a trophy guide and a special edition DVD. A major competition, with a top prize value at 5,000, will also feature prominently.

"It's an honour to be joining such a prestigious, industry leading brand," said King. "I've long been an admirer of Play and I am looking forward to leading it into the future at a time when the PlayStation brand itself is also rocketing forward in the market."

"We are delighted to announce Ryan as editor of one of our most treasured brands. A veteran of the industry and former Imagineer, Ryan's appointment is a real coup for the magazine," said editor in chief Aaron Asadi.

"He has some fantastic ideas for the magazine and website and we can't wait to see them come to fruition."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now