Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

EA sells 4000 copies of Battlefield charity DLC

Fri 17 Dec 2010 10:06am GMT / 5:06am EST / 2:06am PST
BusinessOnline

$1 from every sale given to Child's Play charity

EA has claimed at least 4000 sales of Santa costume DLC for its free to play shooter Battlefield Heroes, across 17 days.

The publisher intends to donate $1 of every sale to philanthropic causes. "We're blown away by the support our community has shown for the Child's Play charity, which helps provide videogames for children in hospital," senior producer James Salt told Eurogamer.

"So far we'll be donating about $4000, it would be fantastic if we could double that."

The downloadable character skins cost players around 10 each.

5 Comments

Hermann Rauth Game Audio Designer

10 1 0.1
So EA is donating $4000 to charity after making $36000 out of a Santa Claus outfit that probably took the designers some hours to make? WOW!

Why do they even do a press release on this?

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Hui Cheng Analyst, Ubisoft

1 0 0.0
Biggest joke ever.

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Daniel Vardy Studying HND IT, De Montfort University

90 1 0.0
large profit margins on charity pieces...

Posted:3 years ago

#3

Oliver Jones Software Developer

21 21 1.0

Posted:3 years ago

#4

Kingman Cheng Illustrator and Animator

954 182 0.2
As nice as the idea is, 1 single measley dollar per copy. What madness is this?

Posted:3 years ago

#5

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now