Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Gameloft releasing HD titles for Freebox Revolution

Wed 15 Dec 2010 1:53pm GMT / 8:53am EST / 5:53am PST
Emerging MarketsHardware

Partnership marks first for set-top boxes, but currently only planned for France

GameLoft has revealed a partnership which will see it release high-definition games for the Freebox V6 Revolution set-top box - making it the first company to have HD games available via a set-top box service.

The partnership with French ISP Free, creators of the Freebox Revolution, will see GameLoft titles such as N.O.V.A. and UNO hit the box, which is currently only available in France. The box comes complete with Wi-Fi, a 250GB hard drive with a gyroscopic remote, as well as a free controller to encourage users to download more games, Yahoo reports.

"We are pleased to be partnered with Free, who similar to our approach, understand how to anticipate technological advances to offer interesting products and services that meet the criteria of easy access, high appeal and quality expected by the consumer", said Michel Guillemot, president of GameLoft.

"The new Freebox is the most powerful triple-play box to date. Housing the latest Intel processor, the Atom CE4100, it allows the development of games in high definition, never seen on the market before. We are confidant that this new generation of games available on the new Freebox will be quickly adopted by the general public".

Games for the service will be priced between 4.99 and 6.99, with more GameLoft titles dues soon after release.

1 Comment

Alfonso Sexto
Lead Tester

779 584 0.7
Now if only they would be doind they own original games instead of direct rip-offs of other successful tittles I would consider showing some interest in this company.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now