Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Tencent to manage Crytek's Warface in China

Mon 13 Dec 2010 4:36pm GMT / 11:36am EST / 8:36am PST
OnlineDevelopment

Internet giant to operate new free-to-play shooter from Crysis dev

Crytek's upcoming free-to-play first-person shooter Warface will be operated in China exclusively by Tencent.

Tencent is an internet giant in the region, and boasts a $75 million market cap and revenues of $1.8 billion.

"The development of our first free-to-play online project marks another major stepping stone for our studio," offered Avni Yerli, MD of Crytek.

"We are excited to have the opportunity to partner with Tencent who are recognised as the largest online game community in China and a world-class online game developer and operator. We believe this game will make a glorious achievement in the Asian markets."

Earlier this year, Tencent vice president Bo Wang said that the company's games enjoy a lifecycle of between 5-7 years, with the firm operating a micro transaction based business to cater to all consumers.

"Developed by Crytek and operated by Tencent in China, Warface will give Chinese players a revolutionary shooting game experience", added Steven Ma, vice president of Tencent Games.

2 Comments

Think Tencent's market cap is currently closer to $43 billion with LTM revenue of $2.7 billion..

Posted:4 years ago

#1

Glen Elliott Partner/Head of Sales, European Game League

57 2 0.0
Agreed, according to Bloomberg, it has a market cap of 334,000 million HKD (symbol 700 HK) which is just under $43 Billion USD and turnover of $1.6 Billion USD

Posted:4 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now